~Families Are Stitched Together With Love ~ Giveaways

IMAG5571

Grandpas Farm

Lovingly made by Ruth May Fisher (my grandmother)

for  Henry Raymond Fisher (my grandfather)

~ Well many of you know that I was interviewed by Author Mona Hodgson about Quilts in my family and why they mean so much to me.  If you never got to read that interview you can find it on her site  http://monahodgson.com/2013/12/guest-quilter-1/

IMAG5572

Sampler Quilt

Made by Ruth May Fisher (my grandmother)

IMAG5573

Baby Quilt lovingly made for  Nancy Fisher Davenport (my aunt)

by  Bertha Louise Kells ( my great grandmother) Grandma Ruth’s Mom.

As you can see, there was much love in our family , my Grandmother Ruth loved my Grandfather Ray a whole bunch and she loved the farm a lot too.  We all got to experience that love when we visited the farm.  Grandma never started her quilting until older.  But through the years there were many ways she showed us that she cared.  Awesome food was one way !  My Grandparents loved having the whole family over at the farm for the holidays.  My Grandma Ruth loved it when we all grew up and had babies and  she loved having us visit them.

As you can see my Great Grandmother Kells was very creative also.  She loved to make eye glass pins and felt mittens on clips and I can imagine that her creative side was what spurred my Grandmother Ruth to do so in her later years.

It is that creative spirit that I am sure inspired my mom Gloria Bradt and in turn inspires me today ! I think that is what inspires my sister Jeanette to quilt and sew also.  Over the coming days I want to share with you pieces of our lives that include quilts and the things that stitched us together as a family.  The farming tradition was carried down by many of us in ways large and small and I know that Grandpas Farm Quilt was my Grandmother Ruths way of showing just that and her love for Grandpa.  It is a  Legacy of Love !  One we all carry in our Hearts !

Tomorrow, I will share with you another quilt my Grandmother made !  I hope you will come back for a visit.

Today’s Quilt Pattern  Winner !!!!! Diana Montgomery

EPB915G_Cover

Giveaway: Each Day I will be offering a different Quilt E-pattern.

This e-pattern will be emailed to the winner  by me, I have purchased these special for this weeks giveaways !

They are sold by martingale.com.   So you want to know how you win right…Here it is !

Each thing you do will get you 1 entry ok…

1.  Like my facebook page and leave me a comment telling me you have done so here in comments.

https://www.facebook.com/peacefulacrehomestead

2.  Follow Me on Twitter and leave me a comment here telling me you have done so.

https://twitter.com/faithfulacres7

3. Follow Me on Pinterest and leave me a comment telling me you did so.

http://www.pinterest.com/faithfulacres/

4.  Leave Me a comment here  telling me about your family quilting adventures or  a quilt in your family.

Please Leave a separate comment for each entry.

There will be a daily drawing (winners announced at the end of the week and at the end of the week will be the surprise drawing.)

The person who comes each day this week and comments daily, will be entered in a Special Surprise Giveaway ! ( Something Special from Me)

Blessings and Much Love,

Linda

Do you love Historical Fiction ? Quilting and  Old fashioned Times

Well I think you would love this book series

The Quilted Heart Omnibus by Mona Hodgson

Small-Quilted-Heart-Series-Omni-e1385144829838

Please join me Thursday to hear more about this wonderful book !

Pre-order your copy today in Paperback or Kindle !

http://www.amazon.com/The-Quilted-Heart-Omnibus-Dandelions/dp/0307731146

About Faithful Acres Body Soul Spirit

Born Again, Wife, Mamma, Grandmamma, Author, Artist, Life and Health Coach
This entry was posted in Families Stitched Together With Love, Giveaways and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to ~Families Are Stitched Together With Love ~ Giveaways

  1. Ladette Kerr says:

    I’m following you on FB!! 🙂

  2. Ladette Kerr says:

    I’m following you on Pinterest.

  3. Ladette Kerr says:

    I don’t have any stories of quilting/quilters in my family. I am the first to quilt for a long time (if ever). 🙂 BUT, I do LOVE quilts… and love quilting. One of these days I’ll do more of it!

  4. I made Grandma and Grandpa a Pillow for their 50th anniversary ! I also wrote a poem, I need to find that poem and share it here soon.
    Blessings to all
    Linda

  5. Amyc says:

    I inherited my grandmas quilts and tops and have worked with a few of those. Mona interviewed me posted it last week:
    http://monahodgson.com/2014/01/quilters-quilts-9-amy-campbell/
    Campbellamyd at gmail dot com

  6. Amyc says:

    I follow via Pinterest. (Amybooksy )
    Campbellamyd at gmail dot com

  7. Amyc says:

    I sent a request to follow via twitter (amybooksy )
    Campbellamyd at gmail dot com

  8. Amyc says:

    I follow via Facebook
    Campbellamyd at gmail dot com

  9. Ladette Kerr says:

    I am following you on Twitter (@ladettek)

  10. joeym11 says:

    I don’t remember a lot of ladies doing quilts in my family. I have always admired them and made my first for my parents 40th wedding anniversary.

  11. joeym11 says:

    I am following you on pinterest

  12. joeym11 says:

    I am following you on twitter

  13. joeym11 says:

    I liked your page, enjoyed

Comments are closed.